Kawasaki KLR Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This guy right here.

Should I be worried about the faded plastic as a sign of neglect? Considering this is a Cleveland owned bike, the rust is minimal as far as I can tell. I'm relatively new to motorcycles (have only owned two over the course of 5 years) and I figured you all might know what to look for specifically when I go check this out!

Thanks for any tips, sorry for a boring post, lol.

·
Premium Member
8,967 Posts
Faded plastics are a fact of life with all of the Gen 1 bikes, the reds are the worst.

I would look under the engine at the engine oil drain plug and ask for the owner to remove the air filter to confirm that it is well-oiled.
READ THIS thread, DPelletier's common new KLR owner mistakes to avoid

·
Premium Member
226 Posts
For my needs, I want a solid workhorse of a bike, and I am willing to put up with some cosmetic challenges. If your needs are similar, there you go.
Short answer, No, there is nothing off-putting in terms of the fading. Price is not out of line, and 12k miles is IMHO low mileage for a KLR.

The red plastics are very susceptible to fading caused by UV exposure. For the Gen-1 bikes, the KLR650 went through very minor technical changes, and the '05 is as good as any other year. If it rides smooth and shifts and accelerates well, no reason to reject this one.

Maybe see if you can negotiate a few hundred off the price, just to cover maintenance. There's a resource on here about new-owner guide. Regardless of which used bike you end up with, that new-owner guide can help you get all maint reset and then ride your bike with confidence.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Faded plastics are a fact of life with all of the Gen 1 bikes, the reds are the worst.

I would look under the engine at the engine oil drain plug and ask for the owner to remove the air filter to confirm that it is well-oiled.