Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am just getting started out with my new KLR and would like some suggestions on what to put in my travel tool kit?

·
Administrator
8,254 Posts
crowbird -

Here's a bit to get you started. In this thread, Buildit probably gave the best advice - change the tires on your bike using the stock tools and everytime you have to grab for a tool that the stock toolkit doesn't have, consider adding it to the pile of stuff you will carry.

http://www.klrforum.com/showthread.php?t=6961

Tom

·
Premium Member
4,753 Posts
I use a PVC tube, attached behind the rear tire.
Check out the silver tube front tire on my bike.

·
Registered
650 Posts
I keep my toolkit above my headlight.

It'a a large fannypack. I tightened the belt so that it slips over the windshield. A couple more straps to keep it there during those crazy get-offs.

" What's in it? ".... you ask...

The thing in the center plastic bag is a waterpump seal remover/Installer. oldsixfifty made that up on the very first NorCal tech day here. I've never needed it. I subscribe to the 'would rather have it and not need it' Idea.
The little bag at the top right has extra nut/bolts.
This kit has saved me a couple of times. Once I even "stiched" my fan hub back onto the fan...course.. we almost died that day too..:62:

Forgot to add this other 'kit' I have.

Larryboy had a few of these first aid boxes around. (ask him what happened to his) So I mounted it up.
all it has now is a spare headlight. used to have a clutch cable it there. but used is a few months back.

·
Premium Member
4,753 Posts
Credit card, Cell phone
Pearlblue,
If I'm on my Wing, I agree.. On the KLR or the BMW, a good tool kit will get you out of trouble faster than you can call for help..

Both are simple bikes, and a good set of tools and common sense will fix almost all issues in less than an hour, if you actually do have an issue. :D