Votes: 1 5.6%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My bike just turned past 6500 miles and I was wondering what type of oil people were using. I have been sticking with a patroleum base so far, has anyone switched to a synthetic and if so which brand and type and how is it working for you? Breck

·
Premium Member
4,751 Posts
Breck,
I hope you don't mind, but I added a poll to your question.. Easier to keep track and easier to see the winner..

I run Shell Rotella (or equivelent) 15w-40 dino oil in all my bikes. Around $10 a gallon and it's a proven perfomer in motorcycle applications.

·
Premium Member
4,751 Posts
Thanks Paper, Do you but the Rotella from an auto parts store?
I buy Rotella at Walmart.

I should add to this...

Rotella is "designed" as a diesel engine oil. I've been running it for 10 years on a recommendation from a forum I've long since forgotten.. :)

Anyway, it's a very available oil at any time of the day.. Most places that carry oil will have it, and I don't think I've been to a truck stop that doesn't have it on hand, too. That's one of my favorite things about Rotella, Delo 400, or even Walmart's 15w-40 diesel oil (green label)... My 2002 KLR sips a bit of oil, and I often take it on longer trips.. 1400 miles over 4th of July weekend this year had me 400 miles from home and in need of a top off on a Sunday. Wandered into Walmart in Bayfield, WI, grabbed a quart of Rotella and a Gatorade.. Tossed 1/3 of a quart in the KLR, slugged down the drink, and off I went.

Try to find a motorcycle specific oil, or any other fancy oil (Amsoil, for example) in the middle of no where on a Sunday.. And what day do I ride the most?? Sunday..

Truthfully, just changing oil is WAY more important than what oil you're running. I'd guess the KLR would run fine on Olive Oil, as long as you change it on a regular basis..

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter #6