Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know we can all go fishing with this can of worms, but is the Garman Zumo 550 or 600 really worth the money? I am also a pilot and rely on the Garman 496 GPS up in the sky and is worth every penny. But on a bike I just dont see the $600 - $800 for one. The overlay on google maps looks like a cool deal.
I just wondered what everyone was running and if they liked them? Kinda looking for the best bang for the buck.

·
Premium Member
4,751 Posts
I'm running an old school Garmin 2610... I have the same mount and wiring on all the bikes and just switch it to the bike I'm riding that day. What used to be a $600 GPS is now a discontinued model that can be found new for $100.. It doesn't have a few of the features of newwer models, and it doesn't run off a battery, but it's waterproof, WAAS enabled, and CHEAP!!!

When this one dies, I'll replace it with another..

·
Registered
517 Posts
I'm running the Garmin 2820 and three 2720's. The 2820 is bluetooth wireless that works with my chatterbox xbi2.

·
Premium Member
257 Posts
I'm using the "free" application on my Verizon (RIMM) Storm 2. I've also got a bushnell for hiking onix2000, works pretty good when there are no roads or cellular coverage (for the Storm).

John

·
Threadjacker
6,768 Posts
I use the sun and stars. I get lost a lot. :35a:

·
Threadjacker
6,768 Posts
What's the fun if you don't ever get lost? :)

·
Registered
815 Posts