Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need to find a new wireless router. right now I've got the 3MB cable internet and a lynksys 2.6GHz Wireless B router, and it totally stinks big time. The setup is super slow and always boots us off the system, and I can only get "very low" strength when I'm directy over it on the above floor.

my one roomate has a wireless B card in his computer. Do I have to get a wireless B router for him to have wireless?
we had DSL before and the modem had built in wireless that worked awsome. I wish I could go back but its just too expensive, of course if I can't get this to work it might as well pay more for something that I can actually use.

Any suggestions on what I should look for? I'm pretty clueless about the whole thing.

Thanks,
Brian

·
Registered
173 Posts
I'm no expert but I think most, if not all, 802.11g routers are backward-compatible to 802.11b.

I'm using a Linksys (Cisco Systems) WCG200 that I've had for a couple years and it's been very reliable - much, much better than the old BEFW11S4 it replaced. I run both g and b wireless adapters through it but naturally the g gives better performance.

One thing you might look into is the possibility of hooking up a high-gain antenna to it. My router works OK in my home with the standard, dual antennas but, if it didn't, that's what I'd do. If you want to do a search, look for a LINKSYS HGA7T High Gain Antenna Kit. There may be others that would also work - not sure.

·
Registered
145 Posts
Go with an 802.11n wireless router, an then update your wireless cards to that when you get a chance. It has 300Mbps transfer rate, and should be backwards compatable but make sure first. Best Buys has a D-Link for $80...Doug

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks

Thanks for the insight everyone.